16 December 2017

Join us at 20:00 CET


Eurovision Young Dancers 2017 to take place in Prague

Posted 22 June 2017 at 10:30

The 2017 edition of Eurovision Young Dancers will take place in Prague. The event will mark the second time in a row that the competition has been held in the Czech Republic.

Eight broadcasters have already confirmed to take part in the biennial competition for young dancers aged between 16 and 21 years-old.

  • Czech TV (Host Broadcaster)
  • WDR (Germany)
  • PBS Ltd. (Malta)
  • NRK (Norway)
  • TVP (Poland)
  • RTP (Portugal)
  • RTV (Slovenia)
  • SVT (Sweden)

"This is an important competition for young dancers on the threshold of a professional career," said Eurovision Head of Live Events Jon Ola Sand. "The EBU is thrilled to celebrate the vitality and eclecticism of the modern dance scene together with our Member broadcasters. We look forward to finding Europe’s newest dance star in Prague," he added.
Libor Bouček to host the show

The 2017 Eurovision Young Musicians will be presented by 2015 host Libor Bouček with the winner decided by a panel of dance experts who will judge both individual and group performances. The show will be choreographed by Petr Zuska, artistic director of the Czech National Ballet in Prague.

The list of participants may still grow — EBU Member Broadcasters who have not yet signed up for this year’s Eurovision Young Dancers have until 15 July to confirm their participation.

The Eurovision Young Dancers competition was first staged in Reggio Emilia, Italy, in 1985. It is staged every two years, with a break between 2005 and 2011 for the Eurovision Dance Contest. In 2015, it was Viktoria Nowak from Poland who won the 14th edition of Eurovision Young Dancers in the New Theatre in Pilsen, Czech Republic.

You can also relive her performance on the competition's official YouTube channel.

Czech Republic2017Prague
Share this story