16 December 2017

Join us at 20:00 CET


In a nutshell

The first Eurovision Young Dancers took place in June 1985 in the Italian city of Reggio Emilia. Dancers from 11 countries competed in the first edition of the competition. The first contest was won by Spain, with Norway second and Sweden finishing third. Except for 2007 and 2009, the contest has been held every two years with the 2017 event marking the 15th edition.

The format of Eurovision Young Dancers has remained that same since the very first competition in 1985. The contest is open to non-professional dancers between the ages of 16 and 21. Each dancer performs a routine of their choice, which they have prepared in advance of the competition.
Dancers are judged by a panel of professional jury members with a background in various styles of dance including ballet, contemporary, and modern. Once all the jury votes have been counted, the two participants which received the highest total of points progress to a final round. The final round consists of a 90-second 'dual', were each of the finalists perform a 45-second random dance-off routine. The overall winner upon completion of the final dances is chosen by the professional jury members.
A total of 37 countries having competed at least once since 1985. Canada is the only non-European country to have taken part in the contest, although their broadcaster, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), is an Associate Member of the EBU. Spain is the most successful country to date with five victories in the competition.