16 December 2017

Join us at 20:00 CET

Stockholm 1993

Stockholm 1993

The final of the fifth Eurovision Young Dancers competition was held at Dansens Hus (House of Dance) in Stockholm, Sweden on 15th of June, 1993. Anneli Alhanko and John Chrispinsson hosted the show.

Estonia, Greece, Poland and Slovenia all participated for the first time.
Spain won the competition for the second time in a row and a third time in total. Switzerland finished second with Austria and France joint third. The prizes were presented by Princess Christina, the youngest sister of Carl XVI Gustaf, King of Sweden.
The jury consisted of:
  • Nils-Åke Häggbom (Sweden) as Head of the Jury
  • Birgit Cullberg (Sweden) as Jury's Special Guest
  • Frank Andersen (Copenhagen)
  • María de Ávila (Barcelona)
  • Gigi Gheorghe Caciuleanu (Rennes)
  • Peter Van Dyk (Bonn)
  • Paolo Bortoluzzi (Düsseldorf)
  • Micha Van Hoecke (Brussels)
  • Heinz Spoerli (Basel)
  • Pierre Lacotte (France)
  • Elsa-Marianne Von Rosen (Stockholm)
  • Elisabetta Terabust (Varese)
  • Jorma Uotinen (Helsinki)
Jorma Uotinen was the Head of Jury in the previous edition of Eurovision Young Dancers in Helsinki in 1991. Paolo Bortoluzzi, who was part of the jury in 1987 and 1989 as well, passed away only four months after the 1993 competition.

The show

Tuesday, 15 June, 1993, 20:30
Dansens Hus, Stockholm, Sweden
Host broadcaster
Presented by
Anneli Alhanko & John Chrispinsson
EBU Supervisor
Christian Clausen
Interval Act
Documentary about the dancers that did not make it to the final

The contest

Number of participants