16 December 2017

Join us at 20:00 CET

Schwetzingen 1987

Schwetzingen 1987

The second edition of Eurovision Young Dancers was held at the Schlosstheater in Schwetzingen, Germany, on the 31st of May, 1987. The show was presented by the leading soloist of the Bavarian State Opera Ballet, Margot Werner.

Canada entered the competition for the first time as the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) is an Associate Member of the EBU. Denmark, Yugoslavia and Austria also took part fot the first time. The Netherlands and Belgium took part together.
Participating broadcasters could send one or two dancers, male or female, who had to be resident of the country that they represented.
The second Eurovision Young Dancers competition was won by Denmark, with Switzerland finishing second and Germany third.
The jury consisted of
  • Richard Cragun (Stuttgard) as Head of the Jury
  • Frank Andersen (Copenhagen)
  • Óscar Araiz (Punta Alta)
  • Celia Franca (Ottawa)
  • Mary Hinkson (New York)
  • Mette Honningen (Copenhagen)
  • Galina Samsova (London)
  • Heinz Spoerli (Basel)
  • José de Udaeta (Sitges)

The show

Sunday, 31 May, 1987, 20:30
Schwetzingen Castle Theatre, Schwetzingen, Germany
Host broadcaster
Presented by
Margot Werner
Executive Producer
Harro Eisele
EBU Supervisor
Frank Naef
TV Director
Hugo Käch
Interval Act
Arne Fagerholt in Kjersti Alverberg's 'Spirits'