16 December 2017

Join us at 20:00 CET


The Final of the 8th Eurovision Young Dancers competition was held at the Opéra de Lyon, France on the 10th of July, 1999. The show was hosted by France Televisions for the second time, presented by Alex Taylor.

The Czech Republic made its debut this year.
The 7 countries that made it to the Final were chosen during a Semi-Final: Greece, the Netherlands, France, Spain, Poland, Latvia, Finland, Germany, Belgium and Sweden.
Germany finished first, followed by Sweden (second place) and Spain (third place).
The jury consisted of:
  • Boris Eifman (Russia) as a Head of the Jury
  • Jean-Christophe Maillot (France)
  • Tero Saarinen (Finland)
  • Meryl Tankard (Australia)
  • Maguy Marin (France)
  • Vicente Sáez (Spain)
  • Victoria Maragopoulou (Greece)

The show

Saturday, 10 July, 1999, 0:00
Saturday, 10 July, 1999, 0:00
Opéra de Lyon, Lyon, France
Host broadcaster
France 3
Presented by
Alex Taylor
Executive Producer
Gilbert Plique & Michele Banaletti
TV Director
Guy Darmet
Interval Act
Performance of the hip-hop dance group “Kä-fig”

The contest

Number of participants