16 December 2017

Join us at 20:00 CET

Helsinki 1991

Helsinki 1991

The fourth Eurovision Young Dancers competition final was held at the City Theater of Helsinki, Finland on the 5th of June, 1991. The show was presented by dancer and actress Taina Elg and choreographer Heikki Värtsi.

Bulgaria made its debut in the contest this year.
Eleni O'Keefe represented Cyprus for the second time in a row, as she also participated in the 1989 edition of Eurovision Young Dancers.
After a qualification round, Spain, Denmark, the Netherlands, Switzerland, Bulgaria, Sweden, France and Germany proceeded to the Final of the competition.
Spain won the contest for the second time, with France and Denmark coming second and third respectively.
The jury consisted of:
  • Jorma Uotinen (Finland) as Head of the Jury
  • Josette Amiel (France)
  • Frank Andersen (Denmark)
  • Heinz Spoerli (Switzerland)
  • Gösta Svalberg (Sweden)
  • Victor Ullate (Spain)

The show

Wednesday, 5 June, 1991, 21:30
Helsinki City Theatre, Helsinki, Finland
Host broadcaster
Presented by
Taina Elg & Heikki Värtsi
Executive Producer
Aarno Cronvall
TV Director
Izan Lewenstam
Interval Act
Documentary by Eila-Maija Mirolybov about the early stages of the competition and the dancers who did not reach the final.

The contest

Number of participants